How to Add Highlights on Instagram Without Posting?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

How to Add Highlights on Instagram Without Posting?

Do you want to add to your Instagram highlights without posting and without others knowing? You can do that!

Here are three ways you can add highlights on Instagram without posting them publicly:

  1. Make your account private
  2. Block your followers
  3. Post the highlight in a “Close Friends” list

If you want total anonymity, I recommend making your account private or blocking your followers. This way, you can add your highlight, and no one will know.

But if you only want a select group of people to know, you can create a “Close Friends” list and then post the highlight.

Keep reading to learn more about adding highlights on Instagram without posting!

Make Your Account Private

To make your Instagram account private, follow the steps below:

1. Tap on your profile picture

Tap on your profile picture
Tap on your profile picture

Once you open and log into your Instagram account, you should arrive on your feed. It’s where you can see posts by your friends.

Look in the bottom right corner of the app for your profile picture and tap on it. The icon will show a person’s silhouette if you don’t have a profile picture.

Either way, tap on it.

2. Select the Hamburger icon

Select the Hamburger icon
Select the Hamburger icon

Once you open your profile page by selecting your profile picture, look for the Hamburger icon in the top right corner of the app.

Tap on it and continue with the guide.

3. Tap on “Settings

Tap on "Settings"
Tap on “Settings”

After you select the “Hamburger” icon, a window will open at the bottom of the screen. Select the first option on the list – “Settings“.

4. Go to “Privacy

Go to "Privacy"
Go to “Privacy

Once you open the Instagram settings, find the “Privacy” option and select it. This will take you to another settings page.

5. Tap on “Private account

Tap on "Private account"
Tap on “Private account

Finally, select the first option – “Private account” to make your Instagram account private. Your followers won’t see what you’re posting while your account is private.

You can change this option whenever you want to. Remember, you must wait 24 hours after posting a highlight to make your account public.

Otherwise, people will still see your highlight.

Block Your Followers

The second solution to adding highlights without posting is blocking your followers before you post the highlight.

Follow these steps to do so:

1. Tap on your profile picture

Tap on your profile picture
Tap on your profile picture

Like before, tap on your profile picture to open your profile page on Instagram. This is the first thing you do when opening Instagram.

2. Select the Hamburger icon

Select the Hamburger icon
Select the Hamburger icon

Next, you should tap on the Hamburger icon, which looks like three horizontal lines stacked on top.

This will open a new page at the bottom of the screen.

3. Tap on “Settings

Tap on "Settings"
Tap on “Settings

After you tap on the Hamburger icon, you’ll need to select “Settings“, the first option on the bottom-side menu. This will open the Instagram settings.

4. Go to “Privacy

Go to "Privacy"
Go to “Privacy

Now, you should go to “Privacy“, the same as before. It’s the third option on this list, but you can also use the search bar at the top to find it.

5. Select “Story

Select "Story"
Select “Story

After you open the “Privacy” settings, look for the “Story” option under the “Interactions” tab. Tap on it and continue with the final step!

6. Tap on “Hide story from

Tap on "Hide story from"
Tap on “Hide story from

Once on the “Story” page, look for the “Hide story from” section. Under it, you should see “0 people“. Tap on that option and continue with the final step.

7. Select everyone on the list

Select everyone on the list
Select everyone on the list

Once you get to this page, you should select all your friends on this list to hide your Instagram highlights from them.

And that’s it. Now, you can post your Instagram highlights, and no one will see them.

Post the highlights in a “Closed Friends” list

The final solution is to create a “Closed Friends” list before posting your highlights. This way, only those friends you select will see your highlights.

Follow the steps below to create a “Closed Friends” list:

1. Select your profile picture

Select your profile picture

Like before, on your Instagram homepage, look in the bottom right corner for your profile picture and select it.

This will take you to your Instagram profile page.

2. Tap on the Hamburger icon

Tap on the Hamburger icon
Tap on the Hamburger icon

The next step is selecting your “Hamburger” icon, which looks like three horizontal lines overlapped.

3. Tap on “Settings

Tap on "Settings"
Tap on “Settings

Next, select “Settings” from the menu at the bottom of the screen. Like before, you’ll need to open your Instagram settings to create a “Close Friends” list.

4. Go to “Privacy

After you open your Instagram settings, find the “Privacy” option and select it.

5. Select “Story

Select "Story"
Select “Story

In the “Privacy” tab, you should see several options, including “Comments“, “Hidden words“, “Limits“, “Story“, and more.

Find the “Story” option and tap on it.

6. Select the “Close friends” option

Select the "Close friends" option
Select the “Close friends” option

Here we are. Once you get to the “Story” page, find the “Close friends” option. Under it, you’ll see the “0 people” option. Select it and continue with the guide.

7. Select your friends and tap “Done

Select your friends and tap "Done"
Select your friends and tap “Done

In this final step, you must select a few close friends that will see your highlights when you post them. No one else other than these friends will see your highlights.

After selecting them, tap “Done” to save your changes.

Conclusion

To summarize, you can add highlights on Instagram without posting by using one of these solutions:

  • Make your Instagram account private
  • Block your followers from seeing your highlights
  • Create a “Close Friends” list for the highlights

I recommend the first option because it’s the easiest to implement. Remember to wait for 24 hours before making your account public again.

That’s how long it takes for the highlights to disappear from your Story.

If you have any questions, feel free to comment below, and I’ll reply as soon as possible!

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.