How to Block Someone on Snapchat Without Them Knowing?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Published:

How to Block Someone on Snapchat Without Them Knowing?

Do you want to block someone on Snapchat without them knowing? It’s quite easy. Blocking someone normally on Snapchat doesn’t notify them.

Go to their profile, tap the three-dot icon, and select “Block“. Confirm your choice, and it’s done.

The other user won’t receive any notification that they’ve been blocked, so it’s not immediately apparent that you’ve blocked them.

However, some signs will tell them you’ve blocked them. Keep reading to find out more about blocking someone on Snapchat!

Will Someone Know I Blocked Them on Snapchat?

Yes, your friend on Snapchat may realize you’ve blocked them via indirect means such as:

  1. Their messages toward you appear as “pending
  2. They can’t find your account in their chats
  3. They can’t find your account via Snapchat search
  4. They can’t see your name on Snapchat anymore. Only your username is visible
  5. They can’t tag you in stories without your permission
  6. They won’t be “Best Friends” with you on Snapchat anymore

If someone cares enough, they will realize you’ve blocked them because you’ve become a ghost.

They can’t find you on Snapchat; the messages aren’t reaching you; they can’t tag you in stories; they’re not best friends with you anymore, and so on.

It doesn’t take a genius to realize that something’s wrong. After all, they can read this guide and find out you’ve blocked them!

There is no way to block someone without them potentially noticing later on.

One solution would be to ignore their messages instead of blocking them. However, they may still know something’s wrong because you’re not replying to their messages or snaps.

What Should You Do After Blocking Someone?

I recommend deleting their chat and forgetting that the other person exists. Out of sight, out of mind, remember?

There’s a reason you’ve blocked that person in the first place. I assume you shouldn’t care about their opinion because you have good reasons to block them.

Even if they figure out you’ve blocked them, what can they do? If you’re not that close to that person, there’s all the more reason you shouldn’t worry about it.

You can also make your account private to reduce contact with that person to zero. Wait for several days until they give up on contacting you, and then you can disable Private Mode.

Conclusion

To summarize, you can’t prevent someone else from knowing you’ve blocked them if they want to find out. The signs are there, and they’re not hard to decipher.

Blocking someone on Snapchat doesn’t send them a notification, so they may not notice you’ve blocked them if they’re not paying attention.

If they’re not your close friend and don’t message or send your snaps, they may never know you’ve blocked them.

If you have other questions about blocking someone on Snapchat or anything related, comment below, and I’ll reply as soon as possible!

Stay tuned to our Snapchat and other social media guides if you need help with other problems.

When you block someone on Snapchat, can they still see the chat?

Yes, they can still see that chat. They’ll also be able to see all the messages you’ve sent and the whole conversation between you.

Snaps will also be available if they’re not on a timer to disappear.

Moreover, they can take screenshots of the chat without you knowing. You won’t receive a notification if they screenshot the chat.

Even if you delete the chat on your side, it won’t affect their copy of the chat. They’ll still have access to the entire conversation.

There’s nothing you can do about this, sadly. Snapchat doesn’t offer you a way to stop them from seeing your chat.

How do you stop someone from messaging you on Snapchat without blocking them?

Not many people know this, but there’s a “Don’t Disturb” function that lets you temporarily mute other people.

This stops further notifications from that chat, whether messages, snaps, or anything else the other user sends.

You’ll still be able to open the chat, read the messages, send your own, and interact with the other user normally.

However, if you’re not actively looking at the chat, Snapchat won’t notify you about any new messages.

The other user won’t know something’s wrong because their messages aren’t pending.

The messages are delivered normally, but you haven’t read them yet. They can assume you’re not available at the moment or that you’re ignoring them.

However, it’s much easier to come up with excuses while using “Don’t Disturb” on Snapchat.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.