If you have multiple linked accounts on Instagram, you can delete one of them.
There’s a difference between unlinking and deleting Instagram accounts, though.
To unlink an account, log out or switch to your other account.
This won’t delete it, though. If you want to delete the account permanently, the process is different.
This guide will teach you how to delete a Linked Instagram account.
How to delete a Linked Instagram account:
- Find the “Delete your account” Instagram form
- Select the “How do I delete my Instagram account?” option
- Scroll down until you find the “To request the permanent deletion of your account” header
- Click on the “Delete Your Account” link
- Select the reason you want to delete your account
- Enter your account password
- Click on “Delete”
Keep reading to find out more!
Related guide: How to Make Your Hashtag on Instagram
Related guide: How to Recover Your Instagram Account Without Email or Phone Number
Related guide: How to Reply to a Specific Instagram Message
How Can You Delete a Linked Instagram Account?
There’s no way to delete a linked Instagram account from within the mobile phone app.
Instead, you need to complete a web form for account deletion.
The “Delete Your Account” form can be found here or through a Google search.
Follow the steps below to delete your linked Instagram account:
- Find the form you need
In this case, it’s the first link displayed if you search for “delete your account on Instagram”.
You’ll see three options when you access the link.
Select the second one – How do I delete my Instagram account?
This will expand the option to show details on how to delete your account.
Scroll down until you find the “To request the permanent deletion of your account” header.
Under it, you’ll see a “Delete Your Account” link.
Click on it.
This will open a new window where you can delete your account.
Select the reason you want to delete your account, enter your account password, and then click on “Delete” at the bottom.
You should know that Instagram doesn’t outright delete your account immediately.
I’ll schedule a date for that. You can get your account back if you change your mind until that date.
When you delete an Instagram account, all your accumulated content and social interactions disappear.
This includes comments, photos, videos, followers, and your profile will all disappear.
You could ask for a copy of your Instagram data from them, just in case.
Either way, deleting your Instagram account is easy if you know where to look.
What happens when you temporarily disable an Instagram account?
If you temporarily disable your Instagram account, all your content will be hidden from the public.
Your entire account, profile, and the content will no longer be visible.
This includes all your followers.
It’ll be like you deleted your account, but it’s still there.
You can re-enable it whenever you want, and it’s not a permanent decision.
Many users resort to temporarily disabling their Instagram accounts when they want to take a break from social media.
There’s also no time limit to how long you can keep your account disabled.
However, you can’t deactivate your Instagram account more than once weekly.
If you decide to disable and reenable your account, you have to wait 7 days before disabling it again.