How To Delete Messages On Messenger From Both Sides?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

How To Delete Messages On Messenger From Both Sides?

It happens to all of us. We send a text on Messenger that we shouldn’t have sent.

And then we want to delete it. Some apps have this feature of deleting the message for both conversation participants.

But does Messenger have it too? Yes, it does.

How to delete messages on Messenger from both sides?

To delete messages on Messenger from both sides, do this:

  1. Hold-tap on the message
  2. Select “Remove
  3. Tap on “Unsend

This allows you to “unsend” the message rather than delete it. So, it’s like you’ve never sent it.

Read below for a more detailed guide on how to delete Messenger messages from both sides!

Related: How to Add a Follow Button on Facebook?
Related: How to Change Your Profile Picture on Messenger?
Related: What Does “Following” Mean on Facebook?

How To Delete Messages On Messenger From Both Sides?

How Can You Delete Messages on Messenger from Both Sides?

It’s simple inside the chat where you sent the message; hold tap on it.

A mini-menu will appear with several options. One of them is “Remove.”

Select it. This will open another menu with two options – “Unsend” and “Remove for you.”

Either you delete the message for yourself or everyone else on the chat.

Select ”Unsend” to delete it for all participants of that chat.

Follow the steps below to do it:

1. Hold-tap on the message

Hold-tap on the message
Hold-tap on the message

If you sent the message recently, you’re already chatting with your friend.

To keep things short, hold-tap on the message for more options.

This will open a new menu at the bottom of the screen.

2. Select “Remove.”

Select “Remove”
Select “Remove”

After you hold-tap the message, you’ll see a new menu at the bottom.

There are three buttons there – “Reply,” “Forward,” and “Remove.”

You want to delete the message, so select “Remove” and move to the next step.

3. Select “Unsend.”

Select “Unsend”
Select “Unsend”

After you select “Remove,” a new menu will appear at the bottom.

You’ll see two options – “Unsend” and “Remove for you.”

The “Unsend” option will remove the message from both sides, so your friend won’t be able to see it anymore.

Select this option, and your message will be deleted.

Don’t select the “Remove for you” message because if you do, you won’t be able to remove the message for both sides anymore.

The message will disappear from your end, and there’s no way you can select it again to remove it.

That’s it!

Conclusion

We’ve all sent messages we regret to people on Facebook.

Fortunately, there’s a way we can fix it before they get to see the message.

Hold-tap on the message, select “Remove” – “Unsend,” and that’s it.

After you unsend the message, it’ll also disappear from your friend’s chat.

If they’ve seen it already, then it’s too late.

Can you unsend all messages on Messenger?

Yes, Facebook won’t stop you from unsending all your sent messages. But this will take a lot of time if you’ve sent many messages on the chat.

Messenger doesn’t have an option to unsend multiple messages at once.

This means you can only unsend messages one by one.

Either you become selective and delete specific (more important) messages or dedicate some time to delete them all.

Can you unsend a Facebook message after 10 minutes?

Yes, you can. Facebook doesn’t care anymore how much time passes after sending a message.

You can unsend the message even after 3 days.

If you select “Unsend” from the “Remove” menu, the message will be deleted from both parties no matter when you do it.

We have tested this, so it’s accurate when writing this article.

Can Facebook read my unsent messages?

Yes, they can. Even if you “unsend” a message on Facebook, a copy of it will be kept for 14 days in Facebook’s databases.

They can still check your message and act upon it if they find that it violates their guidelines.

So, even if you unsend the message, the recipient may report you to Facebook, and you may still be punished.

Unsending messages on Facebook only works for the other person if they haven’t seen it yet.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.