How to Delete Messages on Snapchat That The Other Person Saved?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

How to Delete Messages on Snapchat That The Other Person Saved?

To dispel the rumors, yes, you can delete Snapchat messages that the other person has saved in the chat. It’s your message, and you can do whatever you want with it.

Here’s how you do that:

  • Select a chat
  • Long-tap on a message
  • Select “Unsave
  • Select “Delete
  • Confirm

And that’s all you gotta do. It’s simple, quick, and easy, and it won’t take more than a couple of taps. Don’t believe me? Read my guide below and see it for yourself!

Related: How to Allow Snapchat to Access Your Camera?
Related: Does Snapchat Notify When You Look at Someone’s Location?
Related: Does Snapchat Notify When You Screen Record?

How to Delete Messages on Snapchat That The Other Person Saved

1. Go to Chats

Go to Chats
Go to Chats

Begin by opening Snapchat and going to the “Chats” page (the Chats icon is highlighted in the bottom-left corner of the screenshot above).

2. Select a chat

Select a chat
Select a chat

Next, you’re going to arrive on the “Chats” page. Now, you should select the chat where you sent that message you want to delete.

3. Find the message you want to delete and long-tap on it

Find the message you want to delete and long-tap on it
Find the message you want to delete and long-tap on it

The picture above shows the message that I’ll delete. First, I’ll long-tap on it to open a few extra options. Follow along:

4. Select “Unsave” and “Delete

Select “Unsave” and “Delete”
Select “Unsave” and “Delete”

Once you long tap on the text message, you’ll open a new menu. You should focus on two options there – “Unsave in chat” and “Delete“.

First unsave that message (otherwise, you won’t be able to delete it), and then select “Delete“.

You’ll be asked to confirm your action, which is fine (see below).

5. Confirm your action

Confirm your action
Confirm your action

Snapchat will ask you to confirm your action. You’ll also be notified that your friend will see that you deleted a chat.

Select “Delete” to confirm.

Alternatively, you can tap “Learn More” to understand what happens when you delete a chat.

Learn More
Learn More

Snapchat will delete the message from its servers and try to delete it from your friend’s device.

However, if the other person has a bad internet connection or if they’re using an outdated version of Snapchat, it might not work.

The message might not be deleted from their device. However, this is a very rare event that doesn’t happen too often.

6. Look at your friend’s chat

Look at your friend’s chat
Look at your friend’s chat.

If you reopen your friend’s chat, you’ll see a message from Snapchat at the top. It says, “You deleted a chat.” This notification can be seen by your friend, as well.

They’ll know you deleted something, but they don’t know what. If you deleted a saved message, they’d immediately know what you did.

Remember that unsaved messages will be deleted automatically after 24 hours. Also, one more important thing – you can’t delete messages sent by the other person.

You can only delete your messages. So, if the other person sends a message and saves it, you can’t delete or unsave it.

That’s because you don’t have any control over a message sent by someone else.

And that’s all. Quite easy, right? Yeah, I’m good at explaining things, I know.

Anyway, let me know if you need anything else or if you’re dealing with another issue on Snapchat, and I’ll troubleshoot it for you!

Can you delete saved messages on a chat by removing the other person as a friend?

No, that’s not possible. Removing a friend on Snapchat won’t delete the saved messages on the chat.

They’ll still see all the saved messages if they open the chat.

That’s because when you remove a friend from Snapchat, that person won’t disappear from your chat list.

The conversation history will also remain intact. The only way you can delete the chat history is by deleting every message individually.

Unsave the messages and then delete them manually!

Can you delete saved messages on a chat by blocking the other person?

No, that’s not possible either. Blocking a person on Snapchat won’t delete the chat history you have with them.

All the saved messages on the chat will also remain intact.

Blocking someone only restricts them from sending you messages or snaps.

However, the other person can still access your chat and see all the saved messages.

It’s just that they can’t send you any more messages.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.