What Does “Following” Mean on Facebook?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

What Does “Following” Mean on Facebook?

Do you know that Facebook has a Follower/Following system, just like Twitter and Instagram?

Many social media platforms have this system, and Facebook is one of them.

Following someone on these social media means receiving first-hand notifications about the stuff they post.

You’ll receive immediate updates if that person posts something.

But is “Following” the same on Facebook? Does it do the same thing as on Twitter or Instagram?

What does “Following” mean on Facebook?

Simply put, “Following” means the same thing on Facebook as it does on Instagram and Twitter. By following someone on Facebook, you’ll see their posts on your feed.

This guide will tell you more about “Following” on Facebook.

Keep reading to find out more!

Related guide: How to Remove Your Profile Picture on Facebook?
Related guide: How Can I See My Facebook Password?
Related guide: How to Poke Someone on Facebook?

What Does "Following" Mean on Facebook?

What Is “Following” On Facebook?

Simply put, “Following” means the same thing on Facebook as it does on Instagram and Twitter.

By following someone on Facebook, you’ll see their posts on your feed.

Facebook will show you their latest posts on your feed without looking for them.

However, did you know that your friends are also your followers?

When you send a friend request, and the other person accepts it, they become your follower and vice-versa.

“Following” friends is done by default on Facebook.

However, you can choose to unfollow them at any time.

This doesn’t mean you stop being friends. They won’t even notice you unfollowed them.

You won’t see more of their posts on your feed, but you’ll remain friends on Facebook.

You can also follow certain Facebook pages or groups if you’d like more of their content on your feed.

How Can You Follow/Unfollow Someone on Facebook?

Following/Unfollowing someone on Facebook is simple.

You need to go to their profile, tap on the three-dot icon, and then tap on Follow/Unfollow.

Remember that many people have set privacy settings so only friends can follow them.

If you’re not friends with them, you won’t be able to follow them.

Few people set the “Who Can Follow Me” setting to “Public,” though.

Most people set it to “Private.”

Follow the steps below to follow/unfollow someone on Facebook:

  • Go to your friend list
Go to your friend list
Go to your friend list

When you open Facebook, you’ll land on your feed.

To go to your friend list, look at the top. There’s an icon with two silhouettes beside the Home button (blue house).

Tap on it to access your friends list and friend recommendations list.

  • Tap on “Your Friends”
Tap on “Your Friends”
Tap on “Your Friends”

In this tab, you’ll see several friend recommendations based on your existing friends.

Ignore those. At the top, under the “Friends” title, there are two menus – “Requests” and “Your Friends.”

Tap on “Your Friends” to see a list of all your friends on Facebook.

  • Select one of your friends
Select one of your friends
Select one of your friends

On this page, you’ll see a list of all your friends.

Tap on the friend that you want to follow/unfollow. This will take you to their profile.

Only from there can you follow/unfollow them.

  • Tap on “Friends”
Tap on “Friends”
Tap on “Friends”

When you get to your friend’s profile page, you’ll see their profile picture, name, and several options.

The first option is “Friends.” It shows that you’re currently friends with that person.

However, if you tap on it, you’ll open a new menu with several options.

Select “Friends”!

  • Select “Unfollow”
Select “Unfollow”
Select “Unfollow”

The new menu will show four new options – “Follow,” “Take a break,” “Edit Friend List,” and “Unfriend.”

By default, you become their follower whenever you add a new friend.

So, when you open this menu, you’ll see the “Unfollow” button, which means you can unfollow that friend.

Tap on it to unfollow your friend. This way, you won’t see any new posts from them on your feed.

If you change your mind, you can return to this menu and select “Follow” instead.

Select "Follow"
Select “Follow”

The “Unfollow” button changes to “Follow” because you unfollowed your friend previously.

Conclusion

When you follow someone on Facebook, you “subscribe” to their posts.

Facebook will send you updates for everything new the other person posts.

Your feed will be filled with the things they do on Facebook.

Facebook makes you follow all your friends when you add them as friends.

That’s the default option on Facebook.

However, you can choose to unfollow some of your friends if you don’t like what they’re posting.

They won’t know because Facebook doesn’t notify them.

To follow/unfollow someone on Facebook, tap on “Friends,” and then tap on “Follow/Unfollow.”

FAQ

Do people get notified if you follow them on Facebook?

No, Facebook doesn’t notify people when you follow them.

However, things are different with Facebook pages.

If you follow a Facebook page, the platform will send a notification to the page owner.

They’ll receive a personalized notification that you followed their page. They’ll know your name as well.

Besides that, you won’t be able to follow random people on Facebook because their “Who Can Follow Me” privacy option is set to “Private” in most cases.

Not many people choose to make that option public so everyone can follow them.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.