What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean on Snapchat?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

What Does “Other Snapchatters” Mean on Snapchat?

You may have encountered the “Other Snapchatters” term in your Snapchat stories.

What does it mean, and why is it there? What other snapchatters is it talking about?

Snapchat doesn’t offer any information about it in its official guides.

This article will explain the “Other Snachatters” term and what you should understand about it.

What does “Other Snapchatters” mean on Snapchat?

“Other Snapchatters” could mean one of three things:

  1. You didn’t respond to that person’s friend request
  2. The other person has unfriended you
  3. The other person has blocked you

Read below to find out more!

Related guide: How to Start a Streak on Snapchat
Related guide: Why Can I Snapchat Someone But Not See Their Score?
Related guide: How to Reset Your Snapchat Password Without Email or Phone Number

What Does "Other Snapchatters" Mean on Snapchat?

What Does The “Other Snapchatters” Term Mean on Snapchat?

“Other Snapchatters” could mean one of three things:

  • You didn’t respond to that person’s friend request
  • The other person has unfriended you
  • The other person has blocked you

All three reasons converge on a single idea – you’re not friends with that person on Snapchat.

Either they unfriended you, blocked you, or you didn’t add them back as a friend.

If you add someone as a friend on Snapchat and post a story, their name will appear on the Snapchat Story Viewers’ list.

But if they unfriended you in the meantime, their name will appear in the “Other Snapchatters” section.

Let’s talk about every reason individually:

  • The other person has unfriended you

You can remove a friend anytime by going to their profile and tapping on the three-dot menu in the top-right corner.

Removing someone from Snapchat
Removing someone from Snapchat

Then, select “Remove Friend” from the list.

Select “Remove Friend” from the list.
Then, select “Remove Friend” from the list.

This will remove the other person from your Friend List. They can do the same to you.

If they do this and you post a Snapchat story, their name will appear in the “Other Snapchatters” section.

Open a chat with them to be certain that they’ve unfriended you. If the normal blue arrow is now grey or if, instead of “delivered”, the message says “pending”, it means they unfriended you.

They won’t see your text messages or snaps until they add you back as a friend.

  • You didn’t accept the other person’s Friend Request

If someone sends you a friend request, you need to accept it to be friends with them.

If you don’t, the other person will appear in the “Other Snapchatters” section of your Snapchat story.

You can try this for yourself. Have someone send you a friend request, then post a story and have them watch it.

Their name won’t appear in the regular Viewers list.

Instead, it’ll appear in the “Other Snapchatters” list.

Even the official Snapchat support says the same thing. You must add the other person back as a friend if you want them to appear in the normal Viewers list in your story.

  • They blocked you

You can block someone by going to their profile, tapping on the three-dot menu, and selecting “Block”.

Blocking someone on Snapchat
Blocking someone on Snapchat

If someone blocks you, their profile will no longer appear. Their name will also appear in your story’s “Other Snapchatters” section.

They have to watch your story first and then block you, though. If they block you first, they won’t be able to see your story.

But if they see it and then block you, they’ll appear in the “Other Snapchatters” section.

Most likely, if someone blocked you, it’s because they found the story offensive.

Otherwise, there’s no reason why they blocked you after watching your story.

Conclusion

Snapchat does a poor job of explaining many of its features.

It’s no wonder many users are having issues with the “Other Snapchatters” term.

Snapchat only explains it when asked on other social media accounts like Instagram.

But its official guides don’t say anything about it.

In short, the “Other Snapchatters” refer to people you haven’t added, removed you as a friend, or blocked you.

Remove all the “Other Snapchatters” from your Snapchat friends list to eliminate this category in your Stories.

FAQ

Can you be blocked on Snapchat but still be friends?

Yes, it’s possible.

Someone can block you on Snapchat but refuse to unfriend you.

In that case, you won’t be able to see their story, but you’ll still see their Snap Score.

You’ll also be able to send them text messages and snaps. However, they won’t see those snaps until they cancel the block.

Until then, your messages and snaps will appear as “pending”.

Blocking someone won’t “unsend” an unopened Snap, if you’re wondering.

When they return on Snapchat, even if you’ve blocked them, they’ll still be able to open the snap you sent them.

So, this isn’t a good way of unsending something on Snapchat.

How long does Snapchats last?

All snaps will automatically delete after all the recipients have seen them.

So, if your friend sends you a snap, it’ll get deleted once you see it and replay it.

Unopened snaps will be deleted after 30 days if you don’t open them.

As for Group Chats, all snaps will be deleted after 24 hours if everyone doesn’t open them.

So, even if there’s an inactive person in the group, the snap won’t last indefinitely until the last person opens it.

However, Snapchat recently added a timer feature that lets you keep snaps indefinitely in the chat.

The infinity icon serves that exact purpose. It lets you send a snap and keep it indefinitely in a chat.

It won’t disappear unless you delete it from the chat. This applies to group chats too.

It depends on what type of timer you set when sending the snap.

By default, the Snap will disappear after being watched and replayed once.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.