How to Save Snapchat Photos to Your Gallery

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

How to Save Snapchat Photos to Your Gallery

Do you want to save your Snapchat photos to your phone Gallery?

A Snapchat photo can default go to the Camera Roll, Memories, or Memories & Camera Roll.

You can access these from your Snapchat app by swiping up on the main page.

If you want to save the photos in your gallery, you need to modify the Save button.

This is what you’ll learn in this article – how to modify the Save button and save your Snapchat photos in your phone gallery.

Keep reading!

How Do You Change the Snapchat Save Button?

You’ll need to go to Snapchat Settings – Memories – Memories & Camera Roll.

There, you’ll find the Save Button settings. Modify them, so all photos saved on Snapchat go to your memories and gallery.

Here’s the step-by-step guide on changing the Snapchat Save button:

  1. Open Snapchat and tap on the Bitmoji
  2. Tap on the Cogwheel icon
  3. Find the Save Button option
  4. Select Memories & Camera Roll or just Camera Roll

Related guide: How to Get Your Snapchat Streak Back
Related guide: How to Fix Snapchat Account Compromised Error
Related guide: How to Delete a Sent Snap on Snapchat

Let’s look into each step in more detail:

How to Save Snapchat Photos to Your Gallery

1. Open Snapchat and tap on the Bitmoji

Open Snapchat and tap on the Bitmoji
Open Snapchat and tap on the Bitmoji

First, you need to log in to your Snapchat account.

This will take you to the Camera feature, where you need to be.

Look to the top-left corner, and you’ll see Bitmoji, a virtual avatar that looks like you.

Tap on it!

2. Tap on the Cogwheel icon

Tap on the Cogwheel icon
Tap on the Cogwheel icon

You need to go to Settings to change the Save button in your profile.

Look in the top-right corner of your screen, and you’ll see the cogwheel icon.

Tap on it to go to Settings!

3. Go to Memories

Go to Memories
Go to Memories

Once you get to Settings, you’ll need to find the Memories entry.

Scroll down until you see the “Who can…” menu.

The Memories submenu will be under “See My Location” and above “Lenses.”

Tap on it.

4. Find the Save Button option

Find the Save Button option
Find the Save Button option

In the Memories section, you can edit the Save Button.

Find the option and tap on it.

5. Select Memories & Camera Roll or just Camera Roll

Select Memories & Camera Roll or just Camera Roll
Select Memories & Camera Roll or just Camera Roll

If you want to save your Snapchat photos in your gallery alone, select “Camera Roll Only.”

If you want to save Snapchat photos in the gallery and the Snapchat memory, select “Memories & Camera Roll.”

First, take a Snap from the app.

Then, you need to click on the bottom-left Downloads icon.

Save Snapchat Photos to The Gallery
Save Snapchat Photos to The Gallery

This will open up a new menu.

Snapchat - Save to Memories & Camera Roll
Snapchat – Save to Memories & Camera Roll

Select “Save to Memories & Camera Roll” to save the Snap on the Snapchat app and your phone gallery.

The same works with a Snapchat video as well.

Conclusion

Snapchat saves snaps to Memories by default.

While you can share them on other social media from there, it’s handier to have the photos on your phone.

To save Snaps in your gallery, you must modify the Save Button.

Go to Bitmoji – Settings – Memories – Save Button – Memories & Camera Roll / Camera Roll Only.

Now all your snaps will be saved in your gallery and the Snapchat Memories.

FAQ

How can you backup Snapchat photos and videos?

You don’t need to back up Snapchat photos and videos manually.

Snapchat does that automatically for you.

To check this, go to Profile – Settings – Memories.

You should see the backup progress there. If it says “Complete,” it means Snapchat has successfully backed up your photos and videos.

If not, it means it’s in the process of backing them up.

For extra safety, you can enable Smart Backup.

This enables mobile data to back-up Snapchat content when Wi-Fi is unavailable.

How can you hide Snapchat photos in My Eyes Only?

The My Eyes Only folder is private; only you can see it.

The Memories folder is public. Anyone can access it and see your photos there.

If you want to send a photo to My Eyes Only, select that photo in your Memories.

A menu will appear with multiple settings like Edit, Favorite Story, Export, Hide, and More.

Click on Hide to send the photo to My Eyes Only.

You’ll be asked to confirm the operation. Tap on “Send” to finish it.

How can you delete photos from Snapchat Memories?

Deleting snaps from Snapchat memories is simple.

Navigate to your memories (swipe up from the bottom of Snapchat’s main window, camera), and select a snap.

A menu will appear at the bottom with settings like Edit, Export, Hide, and More.

Tap on More. This will show two new settings – Delete and Create Snapchat Story.

Tap on Delete and then Delete again when you’re asked to confirm the operation.

Congrats, you just deleted a snap from Memories!

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.