Are your friends screen recording your Snapchat stories? Or are you planning on doing this?
If so, you might ask yourself if Snapchat notifies people if you screen-record their stories.
The answer is “yes.” Snapchat does notify people when others screen-record their stories.
This guide will tell you more about Snapchat’s notifications about screen recording.
Keep reading to find out more!
How Does Snapchat Notify About Screenshots or Screen Recordings?
If you take a screenshot of the chat, Snapchat will automatically send a notification to that chat.
It reads, “You took a screenshot of chat!” The other person will be able to see this.
Not only that, but they’ll receive a notification as if you sent them a message.
Similarly, if you screen-record their story, your name will appear with a double-green arrow icon near your name in their viewer list.
If they know what the symbol means, they’ll figure out you screen-recorded their story.
So, you can’t take a screenshot of the chat or screen-record their story without them finding out.
With the screen record, it’s a bit easier to be stealthy, though.
You’re safe if the other person doesn’t know what the double-green arrow means.
Many Snapchat users didn’t have the time to study the meaning behind all the Snapchat arrows.
But the notification is much more evident if you take a chat screenshot.
Did you know that you can screen-record a chat? Snapchat lets you do that, but it also sends a notification about this.
See that? “You screen recorded chat!”. Now the other person will know you screen-recorded the chat.
On the other hand, whether you screenshot or screen-record a person’s story is indistinguishable.
The same double-green arrow will appear for both actions. The other person won’t know whether you screenshotted or screen-recorded their story.
Plus, the person might not even know what the arrows mean. They could think it’s a special feature they don’t know yet.
Chances are they won’t even ask you about the arrows. However, if they know you screenshotted their story, they might ask you about it.
Is There a Way to Screen Record on Snapchat Without Someone Knowing?
Unofficially, that’s another matter altogether.
The Airplane Mode will help you remain anonymous and screen-record someone else on Snapchat without them knowing.
By enabling airplane mode, you’re disabling your internet connection.
So, whatever you do on Snapchat won’t get sent to their databases. The servers won’t know you took a screenshot or screen-recorded the chat.
They can’t send notifications about an action they didn’t know happened.
To turn on Airplane Mode, follow the steps below:
1. Swipe down from the bottom of the screen
To activate Airplane Mode, you need to open the quick menu.
To do this, swipe down from the top of the screen.
You can do this from anywhere, even from Snapchat.
You should do this from Snapchat so that when you activate Airplane Mode, you can screen-record on Snapchat.
2. Activate Airplane Mode
Airplane Mode should be among the options there. If not, look through the additional settings by swiping to the left.
3. Screen-record Snapchat
After you turn on Airplane Mode, you can screen-record a chat with someone else or someone’s story.
They won’t receive any notification because you did it without an internet connection.
If you have Airplane Mode on, Snapchat can’t register your actions because the phone doesn’t interact with the internet.
It’s a very simple solution!
Snapchat will always notify someone if you screen-record their chat or story.
Unless you have Airplane Mode on when you screen-record.
If you do that, Snapchat won’t send any notifications. You’re completely anonymous.
Without Airplane Mode, Snapchat will notify the other person through text or a green double arrow that you screenshotted or screen-recorded their chat or story.
If you want to be smart about it, use Airplane Mode!