How to Tell if Someone Deleted Their Instagram?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

How to Tell if Someone Deleted Their Instagram?

Are you suspecting someone close to you has deleted their Instagram account, and you want to be sure?

This article will help you with that.

How to tell if someone deleted their Instagram?

Here are several ways you can know for sure if someone has deleted their Instagram account:

  1. Type in “instagram.com/username” on the Google URL bar and hit Enter (replace “username” with the other person’s username)
  2. You can’t find the saved media with that person
  3. All their comments, posts, tags, and mention will be hidden and deleted
  4. Ask the other person if they’ve deleted their IG account

By using these methods, you’ll be able to discover if someone has deleted their Instagram account.

Read below to find out more!

Related: How to Unread Messages on Instagram?
Related: How Many Reports Are Necessary to Delete an Instagram Account?
Related: What Does it Mean When Someone Mentions You on Instagram Live?

How to Tell if Someone Deleted Their Instagram?

How to See If Someone Deleted Their Instagram?

There are 4 ways you can determine if someone has deleted their Instagram. We’ll go over each method down below!

  1. Search for the other person’s profile on Google
Search for the other person’s profile on Google
Search for the other person’s profile on Google

The first method is to look for the other person’s Instagram profile on Google. You’ll need to disconnect from Instagram first, though.

To log off from Instagram, go to your profile, tap Menu, and select “Settings” from the menu.

You’ll find the “Menu” icon in the top-right corner of your profile page. It looks like three bars on top of each other.

Tap on it, and a new menu will open at the bottom of the screen. Select “Settings” to open the Instagram settings.

Next, look for the “Log Out” button on the settings page.

It’s at the bottom of the page, so you’ll need to scroll down to find it. After you log out, you’ll be able to look for your friend’s profile on Google.

Open a browser, and in the URL bar, type in “instagram.com/[your friend’s username]” and hit Enter.

If you do this and you get the “Sorry, this page isn’t available,” your friend has deleted their account.

Or they’ve blocked you, and you don’t know it yet. To be sure, ask a friend to look for the other person’s account using this method.

If they get the same error, the account no longer exists. They’ve deleted it.

  1. You can’t find the saved media with that person
You can’t find the saved media with that person
You can’t find the saved media with that person

Another way you can know that someone has deleted their Instagram account is if you can’t find the saved media with that person.

When someone tags you in a post, that post will appear on your Instagram feed automatically.

If you’ve been scrolling through your feed and can’t find those posts, the other person might have deleted their account.

Alternatively, you can find the “Tagged Posts” icon on your profile page on Instagram.

Tap on the silhouette icon, and you’ll open the “Photos and videos of you” section. This is where all your tagged posts are.

If you remember that the other person has tagged you in a photo or video in the past, this is where it should be.

But if they’ve deleted their account, you won’t be able to find that content. Instagram deletes all the content of a deleted account.

  1. All the comments, likes, posts, and mentions will be deleted
All the comments, likes, posts, and mentions will be deleted
All the comments, likes, posts, and mentions will be deleted

If you’re not sure that the other person has deleted their account, you can look for their past comments.

You can look for anything that leads to that person’s account with comments, posts, likes, and mentions.

At the same time, ask a friend to do the same. This is to make sure that the other person hasn’t blocked you.

If none of you can find anything belonging to that person, then it’s 100% sure they’ve deleted their account.

Look at one of your posts that you know the other person has commented on or liked. Try to find their comment.

The chances are they’ve deleted or deactivated their account if it’s not there.

  1. Ask the other person if they’ve deleted their Instagram account
Ask the other person if they’ve deleted their Instagram account
Ask the other person if they’ve deleted their Instagram account

The simplest method of finding you if someone has deleted their Instagram account is by asking them.

Go to another social media platform where you know the other person has an account, and ask them.

If you don’t know how to find them on social media, contact one of your mutual friends and see what you can find out.

Maybe your friend will know if the other person has deleted their account or not.

Other social media platforms that the other person may have an account include:

  • Facebook
  • TikTok
  • Snapchat
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Telegram

Perhaps they don’t know what’s happening, and someone hacked their account. So, you could be helping them by bringing this to their attention.

Conclusion

Whether a person deactivates or deletes their account is very hard to identify. It’s impossible to know for sure.

Account deactivation and deletion look the same – the person’s content is hidden from Instagram, and you can’t find their account.

To know whether your friend’s account was deleted, do this:

  • Try to find their account on Instagram on a browser
  • Look for content that the other person had tagged you in
  • Look for that person’s comments on your posts
  • Ask the other person if they’ve deleted their Instagram account

To ensure that they haven’t blocked you, ask for a friend to complete these steps with you.

If both of you can’t find their account or any posts, then it’s 100% sure their account was deleted.

Do messages disappear when you delete Instagram?

Yes, but not immediately. There are 30 days when Instagram keeps your data hidden if you change your mind. After 30 days, the data is permanently deleted, and you can’t recover your Instagram account.
During those 30 days, private messages will be available to all your followers. After 30 days, the messages will disappear too.
People can check private conversations with you for 30 days, so if you don’t want this to happen, you’d better delete those messages manually.
There’s no other way to hide your messages or delete them automatically.
You need to do it manually for every individual message.

How do I permanently delete my Instagram account?

To delete your Instagram account, go to this link. It’s the official “account deletion” page on Instagram. If you’re not logged to Instagram on your browser, you’ll need to log in and proceed with the steps.
You’ll be asked why you want to delete the account. Enter whatever reason you want. It doesn’t matter.
I recommend that you download a copy of your Instagram information (including posts and photos) by following this guide.
After you do this, you can proceed with the account deletion procedure. After your old account is deleted, you can use the old username to create a new one if it hasn’t been taken.
After 90 days, the account deletion procedure will be fully completed, and all residual data will be eliminated from the databases.
In many cases, such data is kept for 90 days in case of legal events, software errors, or disasters. In some cases, a user’s data is kept for much longer than 90 days if they have legal problems. Instagram’s Data Policy will tell you more about these things.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.