How to Know if Someone Deleted Their TikTok?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

How to Know if Someone Deleted Their TikTok?

Are you beginning to suspect that your friend has deleted their TikTok account? Not to worry, I can turn that suspicion into certainty!

Do these, and you’ll know for sure whether your TikTok friend is just playing around or they’ve really abandoned the boat:

  1. You can’t find them on the TikTok search
  2. They’ve disappeared from your “Following” and “Followers” lists
  3. Their comments have disappeared from your posts
  4. They’ve told you directly that they deleted their TikTok account

Below, I’ve included a step-by-step guide fitted with screenshots to help you follow along with my instructions. Keep reading!

You Can’t Find Them in the TikTok Search Results

The simplest way of checking if someone has deleted their TikTok account is to search for their username in TikTok search.

If you can’t find them, it could mean one of two things:

  • They’ve blocked you
  • They’ve deleted their account

If you’re sure they haven’t blocked you, then the only alternative is that they’ve deleted their account.

Here’s how to search for someone on TikTok:

1. Tap the “Search” icon

TikTok feed showing the "Search" (magnifying glass) icon highlighted in the top-right corner
TikTok feed showing the “Search” (magnifying glass) icon highlighted in the top-right corner

With TikTok opened, tap the magnifying glass icon in the top-right corner to open the search page, where you’ll be looking for your friend.

2. Search for your friend’s username

TikTok search page showing the search bar at the top of the screen
TikTok search page showing the search bar at the top of the screen

On the search page, select the search bar and type in your friend’s username (their username, not their name).

Fire up the search and see where it leads:

3. Select “Users

TikTok search results show the "Users" tab at the top, highlighted in red.
TikTok search results show the “Users” tab at the top, highlighted in red.

Once you obtain the search results, tap the “users” option at the top to filter the search results for users only.

4. Search for your friend

TikTok "Users" search results
TikTok “Users” search results

On this page, you should be able to find your friend if their account is still active or if they haven’t blocked you.

If you can’t find them, they either blocked you or deleted their account.

They’re Not in Your “Following” and “Followers” Lists

Another way of seeing if someone deleted their account is to check if they’re in your “Following” and “Followers” lists.

Here’s how to open those lists and look for your friend:

1. Tap the “Profile” icon

TikTok feed showing the "Profile" icon highlighted in the bottom-right corner
TikTok feed showing the “Profile” icon highlighted in the bottom-right corner.

Once you open TikTok, tap on the “Profile” icon in the bottom-right corner to open your profile page, as that’s where you’ll need to be for the next steps:

2. Check your “Following” and “Followers” lists

TikTok profile page showing the "Following" and "Followers" options highlighted
TikTok profile page showing the “Following” and “Followers” options highlighted

Once you open your profile page on TikTok, go to the “Following” and “Followers” pages to search for your friend.

If you can’t find them there, then it’s very likely that they deleted their account.

Their Comments Have Disappeared From Your Posts

If you can’t find your friends’ comments on your posts, they might’ve deleted their accounts. It’s unlikely that they deleted those specific comments out of the blue.

TikTok profile page showing the "Posts" icon highlighted in red
TikTok profile page showing the “Posts” icon highlighted in red

To check your posts, go to your profile and select the “Posts” icon in the middle-left corner. Then, scroll through your posts and try to remember which posts your friend commented on.

You should be able to find their comments if they haven’t deleted their account. I recommend searching a post where you might’ve tagged them.

By the way, if their tag has disappeared from your posts, it’s almost certain that they deleted their account.

A tag doesn’t just disappear like that.

They’ve Told You That They Deleted Their Account

Another way to ensure someone has deleted their TikTok account is to ask them. Try another social media account if you can’t contact them on TikTok.

Or call them if you have their phone number. They might tell you directly that they’ve gotten bored with TikTok and decided to take a break.

If you can’t contact them, try talking to a mutual friend and see if they can give you any news about your friend.

I hope this article has helped you determine if your friend has deleted their TikTok account. Leave a comment below if you have any questions about this topic!

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.