How to Leave a Discord Server Without Anyone Knowing?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Published:

How to Leave a Discord Server Without Anyone Knowing?

Did your old Discord group become bothersome, and you want out of it but don’t want others to know you left?

That’s easy. Just leave the server normally. Most Discord servers don’t announce publicly that a member has left so that no one will know.

But if the server has an automated bot that announces member departures or if you’re not willing to take the chances, it’s a bit trickier.

But not impossible. With a bit of technical know-how and ingenuity, you can do it. So, here’s how:

  1. Change your username
  2. Change your profile name
  3. Enable Invisible Mode for a day
  4. Don’t tell anyone anything and don’t interact with the group
  5. Leave the group
  6. Benefit

Even if the bot announces that you left, no one will know you are because you’ve changed your username and profile picture.

Keep reading to see how you can do this:

How to Leave a Discord Server Without Anyone Knowing?

1. Click the Gear icon

Gear icon on Discord
Click the Gear icon

To leave a group without anyone knowing, you must change your username, ditch your profile picture, and go Invisible. To do that, you’ll need to open your Discord settings. Click the Gear icon at the bottom of the Discord app!

2. Click “Edit” next to “Username

Click "Edit" next to "Username" on Discord
Click “Edit” next to “Username

Once you click on the Gear icon, you’ll be taken to the Discord settings. By default, you’ll get to your Account settings.

Look for your Username. Next to it, you should see the “Edit” button to the right. Select it to continue with the guide.

3. Edit your username

Edit your username on Discord
Edit your username

Once you start editing your username, you’ll see a text box with your username in it. Delete it, type in another username, and select “Done“.

This will change your username for the time being. Remember, you can only change your username two times per hour.

4. Select “Edit User Profile

Select "Edit User Profile" on Discord
Select “Edit User Profile

Once you finish editing your username, return to your account settings and select “Edit User Profile” next to your username and profile picture. It’s above the “Edit” button you clicked earlier!

5. Select your profile picture

Select your profile picture on Discord
Select your profile picture

After you select “Edit User Profile“, you’ll be taken to the “User Profile” page, where you can change your avatar and add another profile picture.

To change or remove your profile picture, select your profile picture under the “Preview” heading. Then, change your profile picture to something else your friends won’t recognize.

6. Select your username

Select your username on Discord
Select your username

After you change your username and profile picture, press ESC to return to the Discord homepage. Once you’re there, look in the bottom left corner. You should see your username and profile picture there.

Click on your profile!

7. Select “Online – Invisible

Select "Online - Invisible" on Discord
Select “Online – Invisible

Once you tap on your profile, a pop-up window will open up. Go to the “Online” option and hover over it to open four more options.

Select the “Invisible” option, and you’re done. This will make it appear that you’re not online, which suits your purposes.

Wait for 24 hours and then leave the group. Even if the robot announces it to the group, people won’t even know who you are. If the group is very small, they’ll eventually figure out that you left, but you can’t do anything about that.

Other Ways of Coping with an Annoying Discord Group

You might not want to leave the Discord group if you’re afraid that people will notice, and this is something undesirable.

Other solutions include:

  • Muting the group
  • Disable Discord notifications
  • Archive the Discord group or delete it

All three solutions will achieve the same effect as leaving the group. You won’t receive further notifications from the group, and you’ll forget about it soon enough.

If you don’t know the people in the group too well, they won’t even notice you’re gone. But if your close friends are on it, you may get away with telling them that you don’t have time to use Discord.

Still, I recommend leaving the group and not worrying about people getting upset about it. It’s all up to you how you spend your time.

If you don’t find your place in the Discord group anymore, it’s time to leave, and no one should be able to stop you.

Conclusion

To summarize, there are two types of Discord groups:

  • Groups that announce member departures
  • Groups that don’t announce member departures

You’ll know what type of group you’re in once someone leaves the group. If there’s a public announcement, you’re in a group with a bot.

You’re safe if you never see a public announcement even though you know that people left the group. Leave the group at any time!

But if you don’t know what type of group you’re in, it’s better to play it safe and follow the steps above to limit your chances of being found out!

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.