Are you currently stuck in a Snapchat group and want to leave without notifying the other users?
Unfortunately, leaving a Snapchat group without notifying others is impossible.
No matter what you do, Snapchat will send a notification in the group chat when you leave.
The only thing you can do is change your name and leave the group, hoping that the others won’t realize who left the chat.
Try timing this with a busy period for the group chat when everyone is talking. This’ll boost your chances of not being noticed when you leave.
Keep reading to see how you can leave a Snapchat group stealthily!
Summary: It is impossible to leave a Snapchat group without notifying the other users. Snapchat will automatically send a notification in the group chat when you leave. The only thing you can do is change your name and leave the group, hoping that the others won’t realize who left the chat. The article suggests timing your exit with a busy period for the group chat when everyone is talking to increase your chances of not being noticed. It also explains how to change your name on Snapchat before leaving the group.
Change Your Name Before Leaving the Group Chat
The problem with leaving a Snapchat group is that a notification will automatically be sent on the group chat saying that you left.
There’s no way to avoid this. Even blocking the other members doesn’t change anything because people you block can still talk to you on group chats.
Plus, the notification received on the group chat when you leave is not sent by you but by the Snapchat algorithm.
Follow the steps below to change your name on Snapchat:
1. Tap on your profile picture
Open Snapchat and look for your profile picture in the top-left corner of the screen. That will take you to your profile page. Tap on it and continue with the guide!
2. Tap the Gear icon
After you open your profile page on Snapchat, look for the Gear icon in the top-right corner. That’ll lead you to the profile settings, where you can change your display name on the app.
3. Select “Name“
Did you open the profile settings? Good. Now select the first option on the list – Name. This will let you change your display name on the app.
4. Change your name
This page will let you change your display name on Snapchat. Attention – it won’t change your username. That one can’t be changed.
However, the display name is what your friends see in the notification when you leave the group chat. Your username doesn’t appear there.
So, changing your name is all you have to do to remain anonymous when you leave the group chat.
Leave the Group When It’s Busy
I’ll also advise you to leave the group when everyone is busy talking about something. You’ll have a better shot at not being noticed when you leave.
If you leave when no one is talking in the group, your notification will remain there until someone sees it, and they’ll start digging around to see who left.
A word of warning – changing your name doesn’t offer complete anonymity, especially if it’s a close-knit group of friends.
They’ll eventually figure out your identity by counting the people in the group. However, this is your best shot at leaving without raising attention.
If you find another way of leaving a Snapchat group without a notification, comment below!