Have you grown tired of ol’ Snapchat and decided to deactivate your account, yet you’re worried about losing your streaks?
Sadly, your current Snap Streak will expire in 24 hours, whether you deactivate your account or not. The Streak isn’t “put on pause” when your account is deactivated.
The counter is still running, and in 24 hours, it will expire if you and your friend don’t send each other a snap. Your Snap Score won’t disappear, though.
Read below to see what happens when you deactivate your Snapchat account!
Summary: If you deactivate your Snapchat account, your current Snap Streak will expire in 24 hours. The Streak is not put on pause when your account is deactivated. However, your Snap Score will not disappear. When you deactivate your Snapchat account, it disappears from the platform and your friends cannot find you or send you messages or snaps. All your data remains intact except for the current snap streaks. If you do not reactivate your account within 30 days, it will be permanently deleted along with all your data. The article explains how to reactivate your Snapchat account to prevent losing your Snap Streaks.
What Happens if I Deactivate My Snapchat Account?
Snapchat, like any other social media platform, requires an account. But you can opt to delete that account at any time.
There’s a catch, though. Snapchat doesn’t delete your account immediately because you might regret it. It could be an impulsive decision, and Snapchat knows that.
So, before they delete your account permanently, they first deactivate it for 30 days. Here’s what this means for your Snapchat account:
- Your account will disappear from the platform
- Your friends won’t be able to find you again
- No one can send you messages or snaps
- People can’t invite you to stories
However, all your data remains intact (profile name, friends list, chats, stories, snap score, account settings, snaps, etc.). All except the current snap streaks.
If you don’t reactivate your account in 24 hours, your snap streaks will disappear. They aren’t put on suspension just because you’ve deactivated your account.
After 30 days, Snapchat will permanently delete your account, including chats, stories, snap score, account settings, etc. Everything is gone, and you can’t get them back.
Snapchat may retain data about your account, but it’s not personally identifiable, so you don’t have to worry.
How Do I Reactivate My Snapchat Account?
Do you want to reactivate your Snapchat account so you don’t lose your Snap Streaks? That’s easy!
Log back into your account, and Snapchat will tell you that the account is currently deactivated. You’ll be given to option to reactivate it on the spot.
Follow the on-screen instructions, and your Snapchat account will immediately be reinstated with all of the data intact, including the Snap Streaks.
It’s worth noting that deactivating your account doesn’t automatically cancel your Snap Streaks. The 24-hour timer is still running because you can always reactivate the account within 24 hours to continue the streak.
So, there you have it – you will lose your current Snap Streak if more than 24 hours pass after deactivating your account.
Account deactivation doesn’t cancel your snap streaks. The 24-hour timer is running, and you still have time to make it if you reactivate your account in 24 hours.
If you don’t reactivate your account in 30 days, it will be deleted permanently, and all your snap streaks will be gone, along with your account data, chats, snaps, stories, and so on.
If you have more questions about Snapchat, comment below, and I’ll reply. Until then, stay tuned for more articles on Snapchat and not only!