Did you follow someone else on Spotify by mistake and fear they received a notification about it? Don’t worry! Spotify didn’t notify them.
There are no notifications for following other users on Spotify. However, the other person can find out that you’re following him.
Every Spotify user has a “Followers” marker on their profile page, with a number attached. When you follow someone, that number will go up.
If they go to the “Followers” section, they’ll be able to see your profile there. But only if they do that. Chances are they won’t!
Keep reading to learn more about Spotify notifications!
How Can a Spotify User Know that I Followed Them?
As I said, Spotify doesn’t notify other users that you’ve followed them. Spotify doesn’t send notifications for too many things.
The only way someone will know you’ve followed them is by checking their profile page and looking at the “Followers” marker.
Here’s how it looks (you can do it too):
1. Tap on the Gear icon
Open Spotify on your phone and find the Gear icon in the top-right corner. It’s next to the “Good Morning” message.
Tap on it to open your Spotify settings.
2. Tap on your profile name
Tapping on the Gear icon will open the Spotify settings. Once you get there, tap on your profile name at the top of the page.
That will take you to your profile page on Spotify.
3. Tap on the “Followers” marker
After you tap on your profile name in the Spotify settings, you’ll open the page shown in the picture above. That’s your Spotify profile, and, depending on your activity on the app, this is where you’ll find your playlists, followers, and people you follow.
To see who’s been following you on Spotify, tap the “Followers” marker under your profile.
4. See your followers
The “Followers” page will show all Spotify users who follow your account. This is where you’ll see your most recent followers.
So, while Spotify doesn’t notify others that you’ve followed them, they can still find out by going to their “Followers” page on their Spotify profile.
To summarize, Spotify doesn’t send notifications when you follow someone else on Spotify. However, that doesn’t mean they can’t find out about you.
They can check their profile page and go to the “Followers” section to see their most recent followers. And they’ll find you there!
They can also visit your profile and see your public playlists and other public information. However, if you unfollow them before they get a chance to visit their profiles, you’re safe.
If you have any questions about this, feel free to comment below. I’ll reply shortly!
Does Spotify notify your followers when you make a playlist?
No, if you make a new playlist, Spotify doesn’t notify your followers. They will know you’ve made a new playlist if they visit your profile.
However, this only applies to public playlists. Private playlists aren’t visible to anyone other than you.
You will receive a notification if someone follows your playlist, though. But you need to have this option enabled in your Spotify settings.
Creators use this feature to understand more about their audience and see if their playlists are popular.
If you’re a regular user, you won’t receive a notification if someone follows your playlist.
However, you will see a “follower” counter next to your playlists.
Does Spotify when you unfollow someone?
No, the other person won’t receive a notification that you’ve unfollowed them. They’ll probably never find out if they’re a popular artist.
While they can check the number of their followers and might notice that the number is going down, they won’t know who unfollowed them.
So, you’re safe. Spotify keeps your identity and actions safe while on the app and doesn’t send such notifications.
Even when it comes to following notifications, artists don’t know “who” has followed them.
They’ll only know that “someone” has followed their playlists or account. They won’t be able to see who that person is.
It’s unknown whether Spotify will include these things in the future!