What Happens When you Close a DM on Discord?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

What Happens When you Close a DM on Discord?

Did you recently close a DM on Discord and are wondering if the conversation was deleted permanently?

It wasn’t. Nothing gets deleted, including messages, pictures, or anything else in the conversation. By closing a DM conversation on Discord, you’re hiding it.

You can find the DM conversation if you search for it. Closing it only serves to clean up your Discord interface.

You can close a DM conversation on a computer by right-clicking on it and selecting “Close DM“. If you’re on a mobile phone, the process is a bit lengthier but still simple.

Keep reading to know more about what happens when you close a DM on Discord and how to find closed DMs again!

Related: What is Automatic Gain Control on Discord?
Related: How to Connect Battlenet to Discord?
Related: How to Move Discord Channels on Mobile

What Happens When you Close a DM on Discord?

How Can You Close a DM on Discord?

Closing a DM doesn’t delete the conversation. It only hides it, which means you can find it later on.

If you don’t know how to close a DM conversation on Discord, read below for a step-by-step guide!

On a Computer

If you’re on a computer, it’s really simple to close a DM. Open Discord and look on the left-hand side of your screen at your conversations.

Right-click on one of them and then select “Close DM“.

Right-click on the user and select "Close DM"
Right-click on the user and select “Close DM”

That’s it. Now the DM has disappeared from your “Direct Messages” list, but you’ll be able to find it easily. I’ll explain how to do that in a few seconds.

On a Mobile Phone

If you’re using Discord on a mobile phone, this is how you can close DMs:

1. Tap on a DM

Tap on a DM
Tap on a DM

If you want to close a DM, select it from your “Direct Messages” section in Discord. You’ll find this section on the left-hand side of the Discord app.

Tap on one of the DMs you want to close and proceed with the next steps!

2. Tap on that person’s username

Tap on that person's username
Tap on that person’s username

After you open the DM, look up. At the top of the DM screen, you’ll see the other person’s username.

Tap on it to open the settings window for that specific user. That’s where you’ll find the option to close the DM.

3. Tap on the three-dot icon in the top-right corner

Tap on the three-dot icon in the top-right corner
Tap on the three-dot icon in the top-right corner

After you open the settings window for a specific user, you’ll see multiple options, including “Call“, “Video“, “Notifications“, and more.

Look for the three-dot icon in the top-right corner of the page and tap on it.

4. Select “Close DM” from the list

Select "Close DM" from the list
Select “Close DM” from the list

After you tap on the three-dot icon, a pop-up settings window will appear. Tap the “Close DM” option to close the DM with your friend.

Now the DM will disappear from your “Direct Messages” section on Discord. If you want to find it, you’ll need to search for it.

How Can You Find Closed DMs?

Now that you’ve closed a DM, where can you find it? I already said closing a DM doesn’t delete it from your Discord account.

To find it, you’ll need to search for it. Discord has a search box, both on computers and mobile devices. Use that search box to find the DM and reopen it.

On a Computer

To find closed DMs on a computer, follow the steps below:

1. Click on the search box at the top of the Discord window

Click on the search box at the top of the Discord window
Click on the search box at the top of the Discord window

To find a DM, click on the search box at the top of the Discord window, where it says, “Find or start a conversation“.

2. Type in your friend’s username

Type in your friend's username
Type in your friend’s username

Type in your friend’s username in the search box and click on their profile once you find it. This will open the DM conversation with them.

It’ll also place the DM conversation back in the “Direct Messages” section on the left-hand side of the Discord app.

On Mobile Phones

If you’re on a mobile device, it’s just as easy to reopen a closed DM. Follow the steps below to do this:

1. Tap on the search box at the top of the Discord app

Tap on the search box at the top of the Discord app
Tap on the search box at the top of the Discord app

In the “Direct Messages” window, look up the search box. The box says “Find or start a conversation, ” meaning you can find conversations you’ve closed with it.

2. Type in your friend’s name in the search box

Type in your friend's name in the search box
Type in your friend’s name in the search box

Now, you should search for your friend in the Discord search box. Type in their name and select their profile when it appears.

If you can’t find it, it’s because a different standard sorts the results. Tap the “Sort” icon in the top-right corner and select “Users“.

Then, look for your friend, and you’ll find it.

3. Check if the DM is back

Check if the DM is back
Check if the DM is back

After you select your friend’s profile, you’ll be taken the DM conversation with them. But if you go back to the “Direct Messages” section, you’ll find the DM with your friend is back there.

You can select it anytime, and you’ll be able to chat with them, just like before. You can close and open the DM as many times as you want.

Conclusion

To summarize, when you close a DM on Discord, it only hides the DM from your “Direct Messages” list. It’s like a list of all your recent DMs.

However, it doesn’t delete the history of the conversation. You can find the conversation with your friend through the search box.

You should only delete DMs if you want to clean your recent chats list. Or hide away DMs with people who you don’t talk with often enough.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.