What Does it Mean When Someone Mentions You on Instagram Live?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

What Does it Mean When Someone Mentions You on Instagram Live?

Are you confused about what it means when someone mentions you on Instagram Live?

Instagram says, “When someone mentions you in their story, your username is visible, and anyone who can see it can tap your username to go to your profile. Stories you’re mentioned in don’t appear on your profile or in your tagged photos.

You’ll know that someone has mentioned you in their Instagram live story because you’ll receive a DM with their story preview (if they follow you).

The notification will appear in your “Message Requests” section if they don’t follow you.

Related: What Is the Year of the Ox on Instagram?
Related: How to Know if Someone Restricted You on Instagram?
Related: How to Turn Off Read Receipts on Instagram?

What Does it Mean When Someone Mentions You on Instagram Live?

Why Would Someone Tag You on Their Instagram Live?

If they follow you, they could mention you in their Instagram live story to have fun together or share a memory with you.

This is when the other person is a close friend or a family member.

But if they aren’t that close to you and barely know them, they may mention you on their Instagram live as part of their social media presence.

They may tag their followers in various stories or Instagram live streams if they’re an influencer.

This mention won’t appear on your Feed or your Instagram page. So, you don’t need to worry about being implicated in something silly.

You can also untag yourself from an Instagram live story by tapping your username on the story and selecting “Remove Me from Post.”

That’s not the only way to control who can tag you in posts on Instagram, though. There’s another way!

How Can I Manage Who Can Tag/Mention Me on Instagram?

You can control who can tag or mention you on Instagram using your Privacy Settings. If you don’t want certain people to tag you, these settings will help you.

Follow the steps below to do this:

  1. Go to your Instagram Profile
Go to your Instagram Profile
Go to your Instagram Profile

First, go to your Instagram profile. It’s on the bottom-right menu bar when you first access Instagram.

Tap on your profile picture to go to your profile. There you’ll go through several steps to find the Privacy settings.

  1. Tap on the Menu icon and then select “Settings.”
Tap on the Menu icon and then select “Settings”
Tap on the Menu icon and then select “Settings.”

After you get to your profile on Instagram, look for the menu icon, commonly known as the Hamburger icon.

It’s in the top-right corner of the screen. Tap on it to open a new menu at the bottom of the screen.

In the menu, tap “Settings,” the first option on the list.

  1. Tap on “Privacy
Tap on “Privacy”
Tap on “Privacy”

Look for the “Privacy” option when you get to Settings. That’s where you can change the Tagging settings.

The “Privacy” option is near the top of the list. It’s the third option on the list, more precisely.

Tap on it and proceed with the following steps!

  1. Select “Mentions
Select “Mentions”
Select “Mentions”

In the “Privacy” settings, you’ll see the “Posts” and “Mentions” options. That’s where you can control your tagging and mention settings.

First, tap on “Mentions” and follow the next step.

  1. Select a “Mention” option from the list
Select a “Mention” option from the list
Select a “Mention” option from the list

On the “Mentions” page, you can choose one of three options:

  • Everyone
  • People You Follow
  • No One

If you want everyone to be able to mention you, including strangers, select “Everyone.” 

If you only want your followers and friends to be able to mention you, choose “People You Follow.”

Lastly, if you don’t want to be mentioned, choose “No One.”

  1. Go to “Posts” and choose an option
Go to “Posts” and choose and option
Go to “Posts” and choose an option.

Go back to the Privacy tab and select “Posts” this time. 

Then, under the “Allow Tags From” submenu, choose one of the three options:

  • Everyone
  • People You Follow
  • No One

The same rules apply. If you don’t want anyone to be able to tag you on Instagram, choose “No One.”

Alternatively, you can use the “Manually Approve” option to choose individual cases where people can tag you.

Conclusion

When someone mentions you on Instagram Live, it means the following things:

  • Your Instagram username will appear in the live story
  • People can visit your profile by clicking on your username on the story
  • The story doesn’t appear on your profile or in your tagged photos

However, if someone tags you to a post, that post will appear in your tagged photos and profile.

You can control this by tweaking the Privacy settings as we did above!

Is it better to tag or mention on Instagram?

You should know that tagging is not the same as saying. Tagging is not necessarily better or worse than mentioning someone on Instagram. It depends on the situation and the context.
When you tag someone, the other person receives a separate notification that stays there until the person sees it.
On the other hand, Mentions go to the regular notification feed, and they’re not pinned at the top.
This means that if you get many notifications every day, you could easily miss a mention from someone.
Another thing about tagging is that when you tag someone to a piece of content, that piece of content is sent to a separate tab on the other person’s profile.
Every content they’ve been tagged in will appear in this separate tab. It’s like a collection of tagged posts.
Mentions aren’t like that. They’re prevalent, indistinct, and can be easily omitted or lost.

Can others see when you’re mentioned on Instagram?

When someone mentions you on a piece of public content on Instagram, everyone can see it. It’s public content, and your mention happens on that public content. 
However, no one else but you receive a notification about the mention. Your friends and followers won’t be notified that you’ve been mentioned in the post.
After receiving the notification, you can choose to reply to the mention or ignore it. If you don’t know the other person, you can read the post and see what it’s about.
If you don’t like the post, you can choose to delete your mention from it. This way, you won’t be associated with the post!

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.