How to See Who Is on Your “Friends Only” List on TikTok?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Published:

How to See Who Is on Your “Friends Only” List on TikTok?

TikTok’s “Friends Only” list is useful when you post something only your true friends should see.

Do this to see who is on your “Friends Only” list on TikTok:

  1. Compare your “Followers” and “Following” lists, taking note of matching friends
  2. Visit every person’s profile and look for the “Friends” marker instead of “Following

Remember, to be friends with someone on TikTok, you need to follow them, and they need to follow you back.

If only you follow them, but they aren’t following you, you’re not friends on TikTok.

Keep reading to see how you can see who’s on your “Friends Only” list on TikTok!

Compare the Following and Followers Lists

The simplest method compares the Following and Following lists on your TikTok profile. Watch for the “Follow Back” vs. “Friends” markers next to your friends’ names.

Follow the steps below to learn how to do that:

1. Open your TikTok profile

TikTok feed showing the “Profile” icon highlighted in the bottom-right corner.

Open TikTok and go to your profile page by tapping on the “Profile” icon in the bottom-right corner of the feed.

2. Select “Followers

TikTok profile page showing the "Followers" header highlighted in red
TikTok profile page showing the “Followers” header highlighted in red

After you open your profile page on TikTok, find the “Followers” header under your profile picture and tap on it.

This will take you to your list of followers.

3. Compare your friend statuses

TikTok "Follower" page showing your friends' statuses highlighted in red
TikTok “Follower” page showing your friends’ statuses highlighted in red

Once you open the “Follower” page on your TikTok profile, you should see a list of all your followers on TikTok.

Watch for the “Friends” marker next to your friends’ names. Compare it to the “Follow back” marker in the case of some of your friends.

If it says “Friends“, it means they’re in your “Friends Only” list. If it says “Follow back“, they’re not in your “Friends Only” list.

You can add or remove anyone from the “Friends Only” list by following them back or unfollowing them.

Look at Their Profile

Another way of knowing if someone is in your “Friends Only” list on TikTok is by opening their profile page and looking for a certain symbol.

Here’s how your friend’s profile looks if they’re not in your “Friends Only” list:

TikTok friend's profile page showing the "Follow back" button highlighted in red
TikTok friend’s profile page showing the “Follow back” button highlighted in red

You’ll notice that under your friend’s Following, Followers, and Likes counters, there’s a “Follow back” button. This means you still haven’t followed them and are not friends with them on TikTok.

This person is not in your “Friends Only” list on TikTok.

Now, look below to see what your friend’s profile looks if they’re in your “Friends Only” list:

TikTok friend's profile page showing the "Friends" icon highlighted
TikTok friend’s profile page showing the “Friends” icon highlighted

You’ll notice that, in this case, you’ll only see an icon showing a silhouette and two arrows on your friend’s profile.

That icon means that you’re friends. They follow you, and you follow them back. This person is in your “Friends Only” list on TikTok.

That’s it. Now, you can easily know who’s in your “Friends Only” list on TikTok. Leave a comment below if you have any questions!

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.