Does Facebook Notify Someone When You Save a Photo?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

Does Facebook Notify Someone When You Save a Photo?

Did you save someone’s photo on Facebook, and you’re wondering if they were notified of this?

Don’t worry. Facebook doesn’t notify people if you save their photos on Facebook. There are also no notifications for:

  • Taking a screenshot of the photo or chat
  • Downloading a photo
  • Looking at a photo for too long

Facebook is not Snapchat. It does a better job of keeping your actions anonymous and private.

Below, you’ll find more information on the issue of Facebook’s notifications on saving photos.

Keep reading!

Related: How to Delete Cover Photo on Facebook?
Related: How to Fix the “When This Happens It’s Usually the Owner…” Error on Facebook?
Related: How to Remove the Share Button on Facebook Posts?

Does Facebook Notify Someone When You Save a Photo?

When Does Facebook Send Notifications?

Facebook will notify users of certain actions other users take on their content. These actions include:

  • Liking a photo
  • Commenting on a photo
  • Sharing a photo (not a notification per-se)

Saving a photo is not among them. Facebook doesn’t notify you if someone has saved one of your photos.

However, be careful that you don’t like the photo by mistake before you save it. The other person will be notified that you liked it.

In that case, they might suspect that you want to save it.

When Will Someone know that I Saved Their Photos on Facebook?

There are situations when the other person might suspect or know that you’ve saved their photo on Facebook.

Some of these situations include:

  • You accidentally liked the photo when trying to save it;
  • The other person has only shared the photo, and you make it public afterward. They’ll know you saved it;
  • Someone else tells them you’ve saved their photos;
  • They see the photo on your phone. If you aren’t careful, they may see their photo on your phone;
  • It’s a group photo that includes you. It’s normal to save a group photo that includes you;
  • You commented on the photo. Most likely, you are going to save it;

But even in these cases, the other person may not know that you saved their photo. Perhaps you got it from someone else!

How Can I Stop Others from Saving My Photos on Facebook?

If you post a photo on Facebook that you don’t want others to save, there’s a way to do it.

But it only works for people who aren’t on your friend list. Your friends will always be able to save your photos if they’re not private.

Follow the steps below to prevent strangers from saving your photos on Facebook:

1. Open the “Menu” on Facebook

Open the “Menu” on Facebook
Open the “Menu” on Facebook

First, open Facebook and tap on the Menu icon. It’s also known as the Hamburger icon, located in the top-right corner of the feed.

If you’re using the Facebook app, it’s under the Messenger icon. Tap on it.

2. Select the Gear icon

Select the Gear icon
Select the Gear icon

When you open the menu, look for the Gear icon in the top-right corner. It’s next to the magnifying glass icon and under the Bell icon.

Tap on it to open the Facebook settings.

3. Select “Post

Select “Post”
Select “Post”

In the “Settings & Privacy” options, look for the “Audience and Visibility” menu. You’ll need to scroll down until you see it.

Under it, find the “Posts” option and select it. Photos are posts, so this option is what you need.

4. Select “Who Can See Your Future Posts?

Select “Who Can See Your Future Posts?”
Select “Who Can See Your Future Posts?”

In the “Posts” menu, tap on the first option – “Who can see your future posts?”.

That’s what you need – an option to change who sees the posts you’ll post in the future.

If you want to change the privacy options of past posts, you can do that too from the “Limit who can see your past posts” option.

5. Tap on “Try it now

Tap on “Try it now”
Tap on “Try it now”

The “Future Posts” page contains information about who can see your posts on Facebook.

Apparently, “You decide who can see your posts each time you create a new post.

On the page, you’ll see the “Try it now” button on a white background. Tap on it to see how it works!

6. Tap on the Privacy button

Tap on the Privacy button
Tap on the Privacy button

You’ll be redirected to the “Create Post” page, where you can add new posts to Facebook.

Here, you’ll need to look for the Privacy button. It’s right under your name, next to “Album.”

Tap on it.

7. Select an audience

Select an audience
Select an audience

This is the Privacy page, where you can select who can see your posts on Facebook. By default, the “Friends” option will be selected.

But if you’ve ever posted public posts, you may have forgotten this privacy setting on “Public.”

This setting allows everyone to see your post, including people who aren’t your friends.

To prevent this from happening, check the “Friends” option. This way, only your friends will see your photo. Likewise, only they can save it.

If you don’t want anyone to save your photos on Facebook, check the “Only me” option. No one, including your friends, will see your photo.

Can I Make My Past Posts Private?

Yes, you can. As I said in the previous subtitle, you can also change the privacy settings for your past posts.

To do this, follow the same steps as above by going to Menu – Settings – Posts – Limit Who Can See Past Posts.

Once you’re there, select “Limit Past Posts” and continue with the process.

Once you’re there, select “Limit Past Posts” and continue with the process.
Once you’re there, select “Limit Past Posts” and continue with the process.

Facebook will ask you to confirm your action, saying, “The only way to undo this will be to change the audience of each post one at a time.”

That’s because you can’t limit the privacy of specific past posts. Either you make them all private or none.

If you agree, tap on “Limit past posts” to finish!

Conclusion

To summarize, when you save a photo, Facebook doesn’t send a notification. It does notify users if they like or comment on their content.

If you don’t want others to save your Facebook photos, edit the privacy settings when you post them.

Either allow only your friends, specific friends, or no one to see your photos. The “Only Me” option means no one can see or interact with your photos.

They’re invisible to everyone but you.

Does Facebook notify you of story screenshots?

No, it doesn’t. You won’t receive a notification if someone takes a screenshot of your story.

You’re only notified if they like your story or comment on it.

This allows for extra privacy and anonymity when using Facebook and scrolling through the stories.

You have no control over those who save your story or take a screenshot of it, so think twice before posting a story with sensitive information.

Fortunately, you can take down a story immediately if you think it’s too sensitive for your safety.

Facebook will take it down immediately; maybe others haven’t had time to see it.

Can people see if I screenshot their profile picture?

No, they can’t. You can screenshot profile pictures as much as you want. Facebook won’t notify the users of this.

You can take screenshots, shoot videos, or download their profile pictures on your device.

There won’t be any notifications sent to the other users. So, they won’t know what you’re doing.

The only way they’ll find out is if you tell them. Or if someone else tells them.

This is often used by stalkers when following certain people on Facebook, but it is what it is.

Anonymity and privacy are more important than anything on Facebook. Still, it’s your choice to post a profile picture and make it public.

Others will be able to save it whenever they want to!

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.