What Does “Last Seen A Long Time Ago” Mean on Telegram?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

What Does “Last Seen A Long Time Ago” Mean on Telegram?

Are you seeing the message “Last seen a long time ago” under the name of one of your friends on Telegram but don’t know what that means?

Well, you’ve come to the right place, as that’s exactly what I’ll explain here.

This is what “Last Seen A Long Time Ago” could mean on Telegram:

  1. The other person hasn’t been online for a long time
  2. The person has blocked you
  3. They’ve hidden their online status from you and/or others

Below I will walk you through these three explanations and explain to you what each of them means (and what you can do about them).

First: The other person hasn’t been online for a long time.

The most likely explanation for seeing this message is that the other person hasn’t been online for a long time, like, just what the message says.

The official Telegram FAQ also says that the “Last seen a long time ago” status means that the other person has been offline for more than a month.

But the same FAQ page also says that the status is shown to users who have been blocked. And the bad news is that there is no good way to check whether you have been blocked or that person just hasn’t been online for more than a month.

One of the things you could still do is try to send a message to that person and see if you get a reply.

You can also message them on other social media platforms if you have their contact details.

Alternatively, you can create another telegram account and add them to your profile. You may see if the “Last seen a long time ago” is still showing up.

If the message is still showing up even when you are using your new profile, it means the person wasn’t online for 30 days.

But if now anything else other than “Last seen a long time ago” shows up, it means that your original Telegram account was blocked by that person.

They’ve Blocked You

As I’ve explained above, when someone blocks you on Telegram, you will also see the “Last seen a long time ago” message beside their profile.

Some say that this is the most likely explanation for seeing that message, as it’s rare someone doesn’t access Telegram for more than 30 days… although I am not that convinced by this.

The problem is there isn’t that much you can do if someone blocks you on Telegram.

You can still try the trick I’ve explained above by creating a second Telegram account with a different phone number and saving your friends’ contact details on your phone.

If any other message than “Last seen a long time ago” shows up, it means you were blocked.

They’ve Hidden Their Online Status

And finally, another explanation for seeing the “Last seen a long time ago” message is because the person has hidden their online status.

When someone hides their online status on Telegram, the “Last seen a long time ago” message will be displayed for other users – same as in the case of not logging in for 30 days or blocking you.

You should simply send that person a message to check if this is the case. If you receive a reply, it means they have hidden their online status.

Also, if a double checkmark icon will eventually be shown beside your message, the other person has not blocked you and is still using the app (even if they haven’t read your message yet).

And these are all the possible reasons you can see the “Last seen a long time ago” message in someone’s Telegram profile. Let me know if you have any questions about this in the comments below.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.