Did you notice that your Facebook story has “other viewers” that aren’t named?
The Story function lets you capture a moment in your life and publicize it on the internet.
Most social media platforms use this feature for themselves, including Facebook.
But shouldn’t you know who views your story? Yes, you should.
But, by default, your Facebook stories are public. This means anyone can see them, including strangers.
The term “other viewers” refers to people who aren’t your friends. They’ve seen your story and the algorithm categorizes them under the “other viewers” term.
This guide will tell you more about the “other viewers” feature on Facebook stories. Keep reading to find out more!
What Does “Other Viewers” Mean on Facebook?
The entire message says, “x other person has viewed this story. As it was shared to Public, a person you aren’t friends with saw it.”
The answer is right there. The other person is someone you don’t know, not a friend on Facebook.
If your story was made public, anyone who finds your account could see it.
Unless you change your story privacy settings, strangers can view your story.
Moreover, you won’t see the names of these “other viewers” because you’re not friends with them.
Moreover, there’s no way you can find the profiles of these “other viewers” because Facebook doesn’t allow it.
They’re anonymous. Their names and profiles will be hidden from you.
But there’s a way you can avoid showing your story to strangers.
If you want only your friends to see your story, you can change this in the settings.
Many people want Facebook to change this feature and allow you to see who those “other viewers” are.
How to Eliminate “Other Viewers” From Your Facebook Story
You must go through the Facebook settings if you don’t want other people to view your story.
The “Who can see your story” option lets you customize who sees your story.
If it’s set on ”Public,” everyone on Facebook can see your story, including strangers.
If it’s on “Friends,” then only your friends can see your story.
Alternatively, you can set this feature to “Custom” so only a few select friends can see your story.
It’s your choice.
Follow the steps below to do this:
1. Open Facebook and select the Menu
When you first open Facebook, you’ll be taken to the Feed.
You first need to open the Menu to change your story privacy settings.
Look in the top-right corner for the three-dash or Hamburger icon. That’s the Menu.
Tap on it to open a menu with several options to choose from.
This is the only way to eliminate the “other viewers” tag on your stories.
2. Tap on the “Settings” icon
Once you open the Facebook Menu, you’ll be taken to another page with several options.
Some of them are “Groups,” “Find friends,” “Marketplace,” and more.
These options allow you to better customize your experience on Facebook.
You need to go to the Settings, though. That’s where you’ll find the story privacy settings.
Look in the top-right corner for a gear icon. That’s the icon for Settings.
Tap on it to open the Facebook Settings.
3. Select “Stories”
Once you’re in the Facebook “Settings & Privacy,” you’ll see multiple menus and options.
Scroll down until you see the “Audience and Visibility” menu.
It says, “Control who can see your posts, stories, and profile.”
Under this menu, you’ll see the “Stories” option, where you can customize who sees your stories.
Tap on this option and proceed to the next step.
4. Tap on “Story Privacy”
Now that you’ve opened the Stories menu, it’s not long before you can solve your problem.
Inside the “Stories” menu, you’ll see four options – ”Story privacy,” “Sharing options,” “Story archive,” and “Stories you muted.”
These four options give you many ways to personalize your Story feature on Facebook.
For instance, the “Story archive” option gives you access to all your stories posted on Facebook, even after you replace them.
The “Sharing options” let you control who can share your story on Facebook.
Go to the “Story privacy” for now. That’s where you can eliminate the “other viewers” in your Facebook stories.
5. Select an option from the “Who can see your story?” menu
In the “Story privacy” window, you’ll find several menus with multiple options.
You should care about the “Who can see your story?” menu.
Under it, there are four options:
- Public – Everyone on Facebook can see your stories
- Friends – Only your friends can see your stories
- Hide stories from – Select who to hide your stories from
- Custom – Select who can see your stories on Facebook
If you don’t want everyone on Facebook to see your stories, select “Friends” in this menu.
Now only your friends can see your story, even the one you’ve recently posted.
To take it a step further, you can use the “Custom” option to select specific people who can see your story.
Aside from those you selected, no one else can see your story, not even your friends.
Make sure you check the corresponding box for the option you want. Then, return to Facebook.
That’s it; there’s nothing else you need to do!
Key takeaways from this guide:
- The “Other viewers” in your Facebook story refers to people who aren’t your friends on Facebook;
- From the “Who can see your story?” menu, you can control who sees your story;
- Select “Friends” so that only friends can see your story;
- If you select “Public,” everyone on Facebook will see your story. People who aren’t your friends will be put under the “Other viewers” category;
- You can’t see the names of the other viewers who’ve seen your story.
If you want to protect your privacy on Facebook, it’s recommended that you keep your story sharing to “Friends” only.
Can you see how many times someone views your Facebook story?
No, you can’t do that. Facebook doesn’t tell you if someone else has seen your story multiple times.
Their name will appear under the “Viewers” menu under your story, whether they’ve seen it once or a dozen times.
Nothing will change visually, and you won’t be notified about multiple views from the same person.
The one thing you can see is how many times your stories have been viewed.
You can also see who has viewed your story on Facebook if they are your friends.
Click on their names to go to their profiles and see what’s up!
Does “Other viewers” mean that I’m blocked?
Yes, it can mean that the other person has blocked you. But this only happens if they’ve seen your story and blocked you after that.
If they block you beforehand, they won’t be able to see your story at all.
That’s what happens if you block someone. You can’t see the posts/stories of the person you blocked.
If you see an “other viewers” tag in your stories, it’s highly unlikely that it’s someone who has blocked you.
In 9/10 cases, it refers to people who aren’t your friends on Facebook.
If someone has blocked you, their “Other viewers” tag will change after they unblock you.
That’s where you’ll know for sure that they’ve blocked you before.