How to Disable Likes And Comments on Your Facebook Profile Picture?

Photo of author

Written by: Alex Popa

Updated:

How to Disable Likes And Comments on Your Facebook Profile Picture?

Are you tired of people leaving comments or liking your profile picture?

Maybe the notifications are annoying, and you want to do something about it.

Facebook lets you disable the likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture.

How to disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture?

You can disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture by changing the post’s privacy to “Only Me”. Here’s how to do this:

  1. Go to your profile picture post
  2. Tap on the three-dot icon
  3. Select “Edit Privacy” – “See all
  4. Tap on “Only Me

That’s it. Now your friends won’t see your profile picture post on their feeds.

They won’t be able to like or comment on your profile picture.

Read below for a more detailed guide on disabling likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture.

Related: How To Delete Messages On Messenger From Both Sides?
Related: How to Add a Follow Button on Facebook?
Related: How to Change Your Profile Picture on Messenger?

How to Disable Likes And Comments on Your Facebook Profile Picture?

How Can You Disable Likes and Comments on Your Facebook Profile Picture?

Did you already post your new profile picture, or you’re planning to do this?

If you haven’t posted it, there’s a simpler way to disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture.

Before posting it, disable the “Share your update to News Feed” option.

This will prevent your profile picture from reaching your friends’ feeds.

They also won’t be able to like or comment on your profile picture.

To do this, follow the steps below:

1. Open Facebook and visit your profile

Open Facebook and visit your profile
Open Facebook and visit your profile

If you want to change your profile picture on Facebook, you’ll need to open your profile page first.

To do this, tap on your profile picture when you first open Facebook.

This will take you to your profile page automatically.

2. Tap on your profile picture and tap “Select profile picture.”

Tap on your profile picture and then tap on “Select profile picture”
Tap on your profile picture and tap “Select profile picture.”

When you get to your profile page, tap on your profile picture.

This will open a menu at the bottom of the Facebook app.

There, you’ll see multiple options like “Add frame,” “Select profile picture,” “View profile picture,” and more.

Tap on “Select profile picture.” This will open a new menu where you can select your new profile picture.

Do that and then move on to the next step.

3. Uncheck the “Share your update to News Feed

Uncheck the “Share your update to News Feed”
Uncheck the “Share your update to News Feed”

Before posting the new profile picture, look at the bottom of the editing screen.

You’ll see an option called “Share your update to News Feed.” This option will be enabled by default.

What this option does is share your new profile picture to all your friends’ feeds as an update.

They’ll be able to comment and like it.

If you don’t want that, disable the “Share your update to News Feed” option.

What If I’ve Already Updated My Profile Picture?

If you already renewed your profile picture and forgot to disable the “Share your update to News Feed,” you can still do something about it.

But you’ll have to be quick.

You need to change the privacy settings to disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture after posting it.

There’s a setting named “Who can see your post?

Set it to “Only me,” and no one will be able to see your profile picture post.

This means they can’t like or comment on it.

Follow the steps below to disable likes and comments on your Facebook profile picture:

1. Tap on the three-dot icon on your profile picture post

Tap on the three-dot icon on your profile picture post
Tap on the three-dot icon on your profile picture post

First, find your profile picture post from when you updated your profile picture.

It’s on your feed, but you may have to scroll until you find it.

When you do, tap on the three-dot icon in the top-right corner of the profile picture.

This will open a new menu with several options.

2. Select “Edit Privacy” from the list

Select “Edit Privacy” from the list
Select “Edit Privacy” from the list

In the new menu, you’ll see several options like “Pin Post,” “Save Post,” “Edit Post,” “Edit Privacy,” and more.

You need to edit the privacy settings to disable comments and likes on your profile picture.

So, tap on the “Edit Privacy” option, then move to the next step.

3. Check the “Only Me” option

Check the “Only Me” option
Check the “Only Me” option

In the “Who can see your post” privacy menu, you’ll see several options, including “Public,” “Friends,” “Friends except…”, and “Only me.”

Check the “Only me” option, so your profile picture post isn’t seen by anyone but you.

This way, they won’t be able to access and comment on the post.

They also won’t be able to like it because only you can see the post.

The only way others will see your profile picture is next to your name.

If you want to be extra sure that you’re not bothered by comments and likes on your profile picture, follow the last step:

4. Select the “Hide from profile” option

Select the “Hide from profile” option
Select the “Hide from profile” option

This menu was the same as in the previous steps when you selected the “Edit Privacy” option.

Now, instead of that, select “Hide from profile” and then tap on “Ok” when asked to confirm.

Alternatively, you can use the “Turn off notifications for this post” to finish the job properly.

Now, you won’t be notified if someone finds your post (it’s almost impossible at this point) and comment/like it.

That’s it!

Conclusion

If you don’t want people to comment on your Facebook profile picture or like it, you can disable the likes and comments.

You can disable the “Share your update to News Feed” option before uploading the new profile picture.

Alternatively, change the privacy options of the profile picture post to “Only Me” in the “Who can see your post?” menu.

This will hide your profile picture post from all your friends and the public. Only you can see it.

Disable all notifications about your profile picture as a final step if you don’t want to receive notifications.

Photo of author

Alex Popa

My name is Alex and I have a knack for social media in all its shapes and forms. I’ve dealt with such things for quite some time and I noticed that many people have issues with social media and technicalities.

Unforeseen errors, bugs, and other problems make their use of social media problematic. These things will be discussed amply in the guides on Whizcase.

I'll present the facts as they are, and offer quick and easy solutions for them.

Leave a Comment

Join the community for periodic updates to your inbox!

    By signing up to the Whizcase newsletter you agree to receive electronic communications from Whizcase that may sometimes include advertisements or sponsored content.