Do you want to know if the other person’s profile picture disappears when they block you on Messenger?
The answer is no. You’ll still see their profile picture if they block you on Messenger. However, your messages won’t be sent successfully.
There are two types of blocking on Facebook:
- The other person blocks you on Messenger
- The other person blocks you on Facebook
Each type of block incurs similar penalties with a few differences. There are also different ways to find out if someone has blocked you on Facebook or Messenger.
Read below to find out about them!
Summary: In this article, I explain that if someone blocks you on Messenger, their profile picture won't disappear. Blocking on Messenger is different from blocking on Facebook. If someone blocks you on Facebook, you won't see their profile picture anymore, among other limitations. To determine if you've been blocked on Messenger, try sending a message; if it shows an unfilled checkmark icon, it means the message wasn't delivered. For a detailed explanation on the differences between Facebook and Messenger blocking and what happens in each case, read the full article.
How Do I Know if Someone Has Blocked Me on Messenger?
It’s not exactly easy to know if someone has blocked you on Messenger or if they’ve deactivated their account.
The best method to find out is to try sending a message to that person. Open a chat with them on Messenger or Facebook and try sending them a message.
If they’ve blocked you, you’ll see an unfilled checkmark icon next to your message. This means that the message “wasn’t delivered to them.”
They won’t receive your message unless they cancel the block. This is the simplest way of knowing if someone has blocked you on Messenger.
Remember, you’ll still see their profile picture on Messenger and Facebook if the other person has blocked you on Messenger.
What Happens if They Block Me on Facebook?
Facebook blocks are different from Messenger blocks. Here are the main differences:
- You won’t see their profile picture anymore
- You won’t be able to add them as a friend if they’ve unfriended you
- You can’t invite them to groups or events
- You can’t tag them in posts or comments
- You won’t be able to see their posts or profile changes
- You see the “This content isn’t available anymore” on their profile
There’s also the possibility that the other person has deactivated their account or Facebook has deleted it. If their Facebook name has been replaced with “User name, ” they’ve deleted their account.
Or Facebook has deleted their account for various violations. They haven’t blocked you.
To be sure, why don’t you try contacting them on a different social media account? Or contact one of their friends and ask them about this.
When someone blocks you on Facebook, you also won’t find their profiles when you search for them. Facebook does this to protect their privacy.
Why Can’t I See My Friend’s Profile Picture on Facebook?
There are several explanations for why you can’t see your friend’s profile picture on Facebook:
- They’ve blocked you on Facebook (not just Messenger)
- They’ve deleted their account
- Facebook has deleted their account
- They’ve made their account private
- They’ve temporarily removed their profile picture
- Your Facebook app is malfunctioning
- Your internet connection is bad
First, I would refresh the page or, if you’re using a phone, force-close Facebook and open it again.
Perhaps the app is malfunctioning, or there’s a bug. Restarting the app will begin a new session, and Facebook will reload its resources.
If the problem persists, try switching from your WiFi to Mobile Data or vice-versa, depending on your current internet connection.
To switch from WiFi to Mobile Data, use your Shortcuts menu at the top of your phone’s screen.
To open the Shortcuts menu, swipe down from the top of the screen. This will bring down a menu with several options. Those are your shortcuts.
Once you open the Shortcuts menu, you’ll see multiple options. Look for the “WiFi” and “Mobile data” options, which are usually the first, second, or third options on the list.
If you’re using WiFi, switch to Mobile Data, and if you’re using Mobile Data, switch to WiFi.
After you do this, reload Facebook and see if your friend’s profile picture appears or not. If it doesn’t, you might need to reinstall Facebook.
Though, at this point, you can safely assume that something is wrong with their account. They’ve blocked you on Facebook, deleted their account, or made it private.
Ask them about it, and you’ll have an easier time understanding the situation!
The profile picture doesn’t disappear if someone blocks you on Messenger. It only disappears if they block you on Facebook.
Blocking someone on Messenger doesn’t block them on Facebook too. But blocking them on Facebook will block them on Messenger too.
It’s harder to explain, but it is what it is. Facebook has a weird blocking system in place.
If you have other questions about Facebook blocking, either on Messenger or Facebook, leave a comment below!
What’s the difference between block and ignore on Messenger?
I’ve already explained what blocking on Messenger does. In short, you won’t receive the other person’s messages.
However, they’ll know you’ve blocked them based on the checkmark icon next to their messages.
That particular checkmark icon only appears if someone has blocked you and your messages aren’t being delivered successfully.
Instead of blocking someone, why not ignore them? The “Ignore” feature disables notifications from that person and moves their chat to the “Filtered Messages” folder.
You won’t be bothered by their messages because you won’t receive any notifications anymore.
And you also won’t see their chat lying around with unread messages because it’s in another folder.
Can you see if someone has read your messages and if you have blocked them?
Yes, you can, but only if they’ve read your message before you blocked them.
If you send them a message and block them before they can read it, you won’t see a “Read” receipt even if they read it afterward.
When you block someone, all interactions between you and that person stop. Even read receipts behave the same.
Users on forums have tested this and found that the above is true for all cases.
Moreover, the other person won’t see that you’ve read their messages because they aren’t being delivered to you.